Recent Museum Renovation Highlights Occoquan Post Office History
- Earnie Porta

- 1 day ago
- 2 min read
The Mill House Museum & Visitor's Center was closed for the month of January 2026 to undergo renovations, collection inventory, and cleaning. Return visitors to a now re-opened museum, operated by the Occoquan Historical Society, will notice a number of changes, perhaps the most striking of which is the restored and remounted historic post office window and sign.
Previously tucked behind some display cases and storage items—and blocking an exterior window—the post office display now sits unencumbered in full view of the public. Staff have cleaned the item, repaired the glass, and mounted it in attractive and accessible fashion, with mail slots that include some historic post cards and other postal items from Occoquan’s past.

occoquan's postal history
Occoquan’s first postmaster was Bernard Gilpin, who was appointed on October 1, 1808, followed by well-known Occoquan resident and businessman Nathaniel Ellicott on September 1, 1810. Historically, post offices in the United States used to switch locations frequently. A new postmaster, for example, once appointed, might move the town’s post office from a town hotel to a general store that they operated. This was the case for much of Occoquan’s history, with the site of the town post office moving among various private homes and businesses.
The town's current post office at 202 Mill Street opened in 1969. The post office window box on display in the Mill House Museum was donated by Bine Cross and comes from the immediate predecessor to our current post office. This earlier office was located at 304 Mill Street, where Potomac Chocolate is now, and was allegedly built by John Leary sometime in the late 1920s or early 1930s as the town’s first post office building. It stood between what was once Leary’s Mercantile Store at 302 Mill Street (later Leary Lumber Company, Blackbeard’s Seafood Restaurant, the Golden Goose, Urban Posh, and now Curate), and Wayland’s Grocery at 306 Mill Street (later Jennings’ Drug Store and now Jerry’s Occoquan Jewelers).

Although brought to us from that first post office building, the window box in the Museum apparently pre-dates even that structure. Isabel Beach was named postmistress in 1904 followed by Lee Beach in 1914 and the window box was apparently used for the post office at the Beach family home at 206 Commerce Street. Charles Pierce took over as postmaster in 1920 and operated the post office out of 307 Mill Street and later out of Slack’s Funeral Home at 301 Union Street. When John Leary built the post office where Potomac Chocolate is today, Pierce took the post office window box with him to the new site.
If you get a chance, stop by the Occoquan Historical Society’s Mill House Museum & Visitor's Center (413 Mill Street, Occoquan, VA) to see some newly display Occoquan history! The Museum is open daily from 11-4 (closed Wednesdays).
Learn more at occoquanhistoricalsociety.org.








Comments